Billy Mays is No Longer Here


mays

billy_4_prezI remember when I first saw an Oxyclean commercial and the guy saying “Billy Mays here…” and my thinking, “who is Billy Mays?”  Over time, I figured out how smart that was because as he continued to pitch products, that familiar opening line somehow gave credibility even though the question remained, who is Billy Mays?  He’s featured on a site “as seen on tv.”  But alas, while he became famous for his commercials, even showing up on ESPN, Billy Mays has died.  The reports have come from the Chicago Tribune, AP via Yahoo and Fox News   While the news about his death is rather thin and that he wasn’t a huge celebrity, strangely, he will be missed.  He was on the Tonight Show in April and even had a fan site called “Billy Mays Rules.”    Just another reminder to take all life has to offer when you can.  Don’t waste it.

9 Responses

  1. Ah, Billy Mays: The Ron Popeil of our time. I think that Oxyclean stuff worked pretty well but his latest pitch, “The Awesome Auger”, looked like a piece of junk to me. Anyway, you have to acknowledge him as a legitimate fixture of our time whether we like it or not!

  2. I suggest that he may have been more well known at his death than Farrah Fawcett was at hers.

  3. Bob, I think you should fill the void.

    wxboy

  4. Them are awfully big shoes…but then again…you’re right…I’ve certainly got the time. How’re trix?

  5. I wrote a post about Billy and posted a few videos and dub …RIP Billy! You were a GOD!

    http://tiphut.wordpress.com/2009/06/29/and-wait-there-no-more-billy-mays-dies-at-age-50-a-tribue/

  6. You will be missed dearly! Such a funny, kind hearted man, whom I think didn’t really know how much your fans loved you. R. I. P. Billy Mays, there will never be another Billy. You left a legacy to be very proud of. Thank you Billy Mays!!!!

  7. I loved the OxiClean commercials…so sad that they’ve taken his voice out of all of them now.

  8. I just saw him on a commercial last week. Billy lives!!

  9. I love and miss you Billy Mays soooo very much, You are the GREATEST!!!!

Leave a Reply

