Two For One: Nemo and Lizzie


Its definitely the dog days. Snow White and I went sculling today in the afternoon. She was afraid there would be too much boat traffic on the river or the creek. I told her that I suspected that people would think it was too hot to do anything and I was right. But, being from Texas, this weather reminds me of growing up in Houston so I was like a duck on water, though we saw many ducks not on the water but instead standing in the shade on logs watching us. They must be Kentucky ducks.

The weather is not changing any time soon. I hear Alaska is nice this time of year.

On This Date In History: Really its two days…this is a two-fer one of which one is a two-fer of sorts. The nuclear submarine Nautilus reached the north pole by the undersea route in 1958. But it was not Captain Nemo’s Nautilus, it was the US Navy and its first nuclear powered submarine with the name taken from the Jules Verne novel, 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea…popular at the time due to the 1954 Disney movie with Kirk Douglas and James Mason as Captain Nemo. I always liked the professor and his obsession with his journal. Anyway, when it ended up in Iceland after leaving Point Barrow, AK it did what was thought to be impossible which was travel from the Pacific to the Atlantic under the ice. It also proved the reliability and practical usage of nuclear power for ships. You can read more about it:

http://www.ussnautilus.org/history.html

On August 4, 1892 a crime took place that inspired a rather gruesome children’s song: “Lizzie Borden took an ax, gave her mother 40 whacks. When she saw what she had done, gave her father 41.” If you look carefully at the photo of Ms. Borden above, she kinda looks like she might be an ax murderer. Certainly more so than Elizabeth Montgomery did when she portrayed Borden in a made for TV movie in the ’70s. Well, the jury didn’t agree and she went free and the murder of her stepmother and her father never was officially solved. It may have been the first big time, media driven crime/trial in America. And now we have court TV.

http://www.crimelibrary.com/notorious_murders/famous/borden/index_1.html

I’m busy recovering from my sculling to find anything else.

Oh…by the way….before you start thinking that this hot weather is some sort of unprecedented phenomena…Lizzie Borden lived with her step mother and father in Massachusetts. The temperature on Aug. 4, 1892 it was over 100 degrees in Fall River Massachusetts.

2 Responses

  1. I guess I need to be a little more careful around the women folk, Bob. I have been known to put that very same look into a couple of ’ems eyes. rofl😉

    kyplowboy

  2. Made me think back to Andrew “Dice” Clay’s short-lived sitcom. He got that very same “Lizzy” look from his wife’s character. His response was:

    “Ohhh, that’s not good….let me go to my room and think about what I’ve done!”

    Kyplowboy

Leave a Reply

